Following the open display of the Russian flag at Melbourne Park, the Australian Open takes action.

Embed from Getty Images

The Russian and Belarusian flags have been outlawed on Australian Open property, according to Tennis Australia. Russian Kamilla Rakhimova and Ukrainian Kateryna Baindl squared off on Monday in the opening round of the Australian Open.

The Russian flag was openly flown on the court throughout the game. “On-site at the Australian Open, flags from Russia and Belarus are prohibited. At first, we had a rule that said supporters could bring them in, but they couldn’t use them to cause trouble.

We had a situation yesterday when a flag was flown courtside. The prohibition is in force right away. We’ll keep collaborating with the players and our supporters to provide the finest atmosphere for tennis enjoyment, according to a statement.

The Russian and Belarusian flags are prohibited at the Australian Open.

Ukrainian ambassador to Australia and New Zealand Vasyl Myroshnychenko criticized the open flying of the Russian flag at Melbourne Park.

Myroshnychenko urged Tennis Australia to act and stop it from happening again at this year’s competition using his Twitter account. “I vehemently oppose the public flying of the Russian flag during today’s Australian Open tennis match by Ukrainian player Kateryna Baindl.

Myroshnychenko tweeted, “I demand that Tennis Australia immediately implement its ‘neutral flag’ policy.

Since last March, Russian and Belarusian players have participated as “neutrals.”

The ATP and WTA decided to permit Russian and Belarusian players to compete again after Russia’s war against Ukraine began, but not in their respective countries’ names or flags. Russian and Belarusian athletes were permitted to continue competing in international competitions by the ATP and WTA, but they were not permitted to represent their countries in team competitions like the Davis Cup and Billie Jean King Cup Finals.

Additionally, all competitions in Russia—at all levels—were immediately suspended. Wimbledon is the only competition that has thus far prohibited Russian and Belarusian players from participating because of the situation in Ukraine.